Soap Making Day

Today, after Ms Action finished up her schoolwork, we made laundry soap. I’ve been using homemade laundry soap for around 4 years now, and this is only the third time I’ve had to make it in that time. I love the stuff, not only is it hugely cheaper than commercial brands, but it works just as well and doesn’t aggravate Ms Piggy’s uber sensitive skin. And nearly everything aggravates her skin.

The other day, I discovered I had less than half a gallon left, so the girls (who love stirring the shredded soap bar until it’s melted) and I were a bit excited.  Weird, I know. But I always feel so virtuous and frugal when I make the stuff.

And, it’s incredibly easy to make. You just need a bar of Fels-Naptha laundry soap, 1 cup of Arm & Hammer Washing Soda (it *has* to be washing, not baking, soda), 1/2 cup of Borax, and a 10-gallon bucket. Grate the soap and put it in a pot with 4 cups of water, stir constantly over medium heat until it’s melted (it’ll be foamy). Then, fill the 10-gallon bucket halfway with water, add in the melted soap, the 1 cup of washing soda, and 1/2 cup of Borax and stir. Then, fill it the bucket the rest of the way with water, stir again, cover, and let it sit overnight. In the morning, it will have sort of gelatinized. To use it, you fill a container halfway with the soap mixture and half with water. Use 1/4 cup of the detergent per load and – WAA-LAA – super cheap, and easy, laundry soap.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Compassion Changes
    Jan 10, 2015 @ 13:17:10

    Reblogged this on Becoming a Minimalist and commented:
    I make my own laundry soap but this is even better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

